When a person is accidentally added to the directory multiple times, here are the steps to remove the duplicate entry:
- Search for the person in the directory.
- Modify the first name in each directory entry to add a number to distinguish between the two entries – e.g. change “Bill” to “Bill 1″ and “Bill 2″.
- Decide which directory entry to keep, which is typically the directory entry with a more complete directory profile and/or more associated groups and outreach records (visits, decisions).
- For the directory entry that will be removed, note the directory profile information, group memberships, and outreach records that are not in the directory entry that will be kept.
- Delete the duplicate directory entry by clicking the red X icon on the directory profile.
- Modify the directory entry that was kept in order to include the profile information, group memberships, and outreach records from the directory entry that was removed.
- Remove the number that was added in step 2 – e.g. change “Bill 1″ back to “Bill”.